Possibly the most prestigious race in all of Europe, the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe is held in the captivating city of Paris of France, where horse racing is a culture rather than a sport. The event attracts the world’s greatest staying horses from England, Ireland and Italy and resides as the Longchamp racecourse. Its popularity and attendance is comparable to that of the Melbourne Cup in Australia and the Dubai Cup in Dubai.

Held on the first Sunday of October each year, “the Arc” is regarded as the most important turf race in the world and offers its winner 2.3 million of 4 million Euros in prize money. Due to its impeccable nature in attracting the best horses for the 2400 metre distance, the race holds a lot of value in a horse’s stud worth. To be crowned the winner of the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe means that many horses will instantly be requested to either sire or foal a champion filly or colt for a ridiculous amount of money.Prix De l'Arc De Triomphe

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

As a Group 1 weight-for-age race, three year olds and over are allowed to enter the race however it seems that home ground advantage is making France the true stars of this competition with the nation holding 64 wins to their name. First raced in 1920 when a three year old colt named Comrade won the event, the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe has seen the careers of many trainers, owners and countries blossom thanks to their success at the race.

French trainer Andre Fabre has claimed 7 race wins and although it is doubtful that anyone will beat France’s victory, Great Britain has managed to win the trophy 10 times, followed by 6 wins by Italy and Ireland. Another record breaker is Ribot, the 1956 winner when the horse smashed his opponents by 6 lengths. Peintre Celebre is the current record holder for the fastest race time with 2 minutes 24.6 seconds after his 1997 victory.

The Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe was first held in 1863 when the governing body of French racing, the Societe d’Encouragment decided to host a race titled the Grand Prix de Paris. The purpose of the Arc was to show the public the quality of French thoroughbred breeding taking place at the time. Named as a tribute to the French soldiers who served in the Great War, the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe has received many sponsors since its original lottery system was abolished in 1982. The Trusthouse Forte, Ciga Hotels and the Groupe Lucien Barriers are all previous sponsors of the event with the Qatar Racing and Equestrian Club currently sponsoring the race.

The race attracts a huge amount of interest from punters who like the high standard of horses in the race. All levels of punters are getting involved in the impressive betting pools offered for the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe. Even before the race has begun punters can wager on which horse they predict will win the race thanks to Antepost betting. This type of bet is placed before the racing season has begun and offers the punter high odds with a great payout if their wager was correct.

Punters can also wager on whether a horse will win or receive a place a few days before the race. Alternatively, if they are feeling confident they can bet a quinella, which involves the punter selecting the top two place getters in any order. So no matter what level you are at, the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe is the perfect horse race to bet on!

Previous Prix Arc de Triomphe Winners up to 1995:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time

2008 Zarkava Christophe Soumillon Alain de Royer-Dupre HH Aga Khan IV 2:28.8

2007 Dylan Thomas Kieren Fallon Aidan O’Brien Magnier/Tabor 2:28.5

2006 Rail Link Stephane Pasquier Andre Fabre Khalid Abdullah 2:26.3

2005 Hurrican Run Kieren Fallon Andre Fabre Michael Tabor 2:27.4

2004 Bago Thierry Gillet Jonathan Pease Niarchos Family 2:25.0

2003 Dalakhani Christophe Soumillon Alain de Royer-Dupre HH Aga Khan IV 2:32.3

2002 Marienbard Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor Godolphin 2:26.7

2001 Sakhee Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor Godolphin 2:36.1

2000 Sinndar Johnny Murtagh John Oxx HH Aga Khan IV 2:25.8

1999 Montjeu Michael Kinane John Hammond Michael Tabor 2:38.5

1998 Sagamix Olivier Peslier Andre Fabre Jean-Luc Lagardere 2:34.5

1997 Peintre Celebre Olivier Peslier Andre Fabre Daniel Wildenstein 2:24.6

1996 Helissio Olivier Peslier Elie Lellouche Enrique Sarasola 2:29.9

1995 Lammtara Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor Saeed bin M. Al Maktoum 2:31.8